Reinvention

I found out Friday that the current contract I’m working under won’t be extended past June.  Being a contractor, it’s expected, but it isn’t any less anxiety causing.  Especially since I’m starting to face up to the fact that my age is going to start having an impact on my employability.

One of my coworkers is a few years older than me and went through two years of unemployment before he landed this job.  He’s done at the same time I am.  His experiences in trying to find work make me wonder if I’ll find another gig anytime soon.  I’ve been unemployed before, but it’s always a situation filled with dread, since there’s always a chance that I’m going to go a few months trying to live off unemployment, which is not particularly fun, especially when I’m trying to pay off things I got behind the last time I was unemployed. 

Leave a Reply

